In the year 1993, the Tamil Nadu State Commission for Women, which is a statutory body was constituted to deal with the cases related to crime against women.A chairperson and 9 members have been appointed.       


        The Women Commission investigates specific problems of women and takes up studies related to women issues. The Women Commission is also vested with sufficient powers to safeguard women’s rights and to ensure equality and protection for women against all forms of harassment and problems faced within the families and the community various steps are also taken by the Commission to create awareness among the public regarding the legislations related to women.


    The objectives of the Commission are:-

  • To provide protection and ensure welfare of women.
  • To address the gender issues.
  • To recommend to the Government on various issues related to women. 



  1. Adherence to the Provisions and Protections provided under the Constitution and

           legislation for women are taken care of by the Commission.

  1. Report to Government when the protective measures for women are not effectively implemented by various agencies.
  2. Recommends amendments in the provisions of law when it fails to impart justice to Women.
  3. Takes up issues related to violation of rights of women and follow-up action with the concerned authorities.

Women who have complaints of violation of their rights and non-implementation of their protective measures guaranteed under the Constitution of India can directly approach Women Commission for redressal.

For Further details Please contact in the address given below:

Chairperson::    Dr Kannegi Packianathan       Direct Phone::   28551155.

Address Details:

Tamil Nadu State Commission for Women
Kalas mahal,1st Floor,
Chepauk, Chennai 600005.
Phone: 044 - 28592750,044-28551155

ln exercise of the powers conferred by sub-sections (1) and (2) of Section 3 of the Tamil Nadu State Commission for Women Act, 2008, (Tamil Nadu Act 31 of 2008), the Governor of Tamil Nadu hereby constitutes the Tamil Nadu State Commission for Women and nominates the following persons as Chairperson and Members of the Commission:-


Dr. Kannegi Packianathan, l.A.S.,(Retd), 

 No.60, 1 st floor, 3rd Street,

 Secretariat Colony, Kilpauk,

 (Parakka Main Road), Chennai - 600 010



Dr. M. Uma Maheshwari,

Plot No.1725,21st Main Road,

 Anna Nagar West,

 Chennai - 600 040.



Tmt. K.Vijayalakshmi,

 No. 29, Perumal Koil Street,

 Maruthavallipuram Village,

 Manur Post - 631 210 Thiruvallur.



Dr. Juliet Selvi Veerabathiran,

 56-5, Parked Car,

 Mount Poonamallee Road,

Radhapuram, Chennai - 600 089.



Tmt P. Amudha, l.A.S,

Commissioner of Food Safety and Drug Administration,

5th Floor, DMS Building, 359,

Anna Salai, Teynampet, Chennai - 600 006.



Tmt. A. Radhika, l.P.S.

Superintendent of Police,

Directorate of Vigilance and Anti - Corruption,

293, MKN Road, Collectors Nagar, Alandur,

Chennai - 600 016.



Tmt. G. Chitra, Member

Member of Legislative Assembly (Yercaud Constituency),

 Manjakuttai Post, Yercaud CI-.K), Salem - 636 602.



Tmt. Pon. Saraswathi,

Member Member of Legislative Assembly (Tiruchengodu Constituency)

No. 1 14, Seetharampalayam Street,

No.1 Seetharampalayam Post,

Tiruchengodu (T.K), Namakkal - 637 209




 Principal secretary to Government,   

Social Welfare and Nutritious Meal Programme Department,

Chennai-600 009


Ex-officio Member

Director of Social Welfare,                                                                              

Chennai-600 015


Member Secretary